Log in


The Colorist Society was founded in 2016 with the purpose of advancing the craft, education and public awareness of the art and science of color grading and color correction.

The Society is the first professional society devoted exclusively to furthering and honoring the professional achievements of the colorist community. It is not a labor union or a guild, but an educational and cultural resource. Membership is open to professional colorists, editor/colorists, DITs, telecine operators, color timers, finishers, restoration artists, and color scientists. Society member applications are properly vetted regardless of credits or standing in the community.

The official launch took place at NAB 2016 in Las Vegas. Membership surpassed 100 in the first four months.

Society members are the best in the business and include, Walter Volpatto (Independence Day: Resurgence, The Hateful Eight), Eric Whipp (Mad Max: Fury Road, Happy Feet 2), Dale Grahn (Munich, Gladiator), Lou Levinson (The Fly Boys, The Royal Tenenbaums), Stéphane Ma (Ip Man 2,  Chinese Zodiac), Mark Todd Osborne (Capote, Need for Speed), Rebecca Goodeve (Edge of Tomorrow, Insurgent), Deidre McClelland (The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, Under a Red Moon) and Mitch Paulson (Bladerunner 2049, Skyfall, Rogue One)

Society-recognized colorists have worked with many of the most talented artists in the entertainment industry: Steven Spielberg, Martin Scorsese, Francis Ford Coppola, George Miller, John Lassiter, Vittorio Storaro (ASC), Dean Cundey (ASC), John Seale (ASC), Janusz Kamiński, (ASC).

View the complete Colorist Society  membership roster.

The Society has ambitions that include organizing and holding its own awards ceremony recognizing outstanding achievements and contributions to the art and science of color grading.

The Colorist Society International is a registered 501(C)(6) non profit professional association. The board of directors consists of:

Kevin Shaw, President
Sarah Priestnall, Vice President
Mark Todd Osborne, Member of the Board
Hugh Heinsohn, Secretary/Treasurer

Contact the CSI

Colorist Society International Inc is a registered 501(C)(6) non profit professional association © 2022

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software